2017 St Mary's Investec Hockey Festival

St Mary’s hosted the 18th St Mary’s Investec Hockey Festival from Thursday 6 to Sunday 9 April.

Click below to view highlights from the 2017 festival.


Click here to view the rhino fundraising efforts that took place over the hockey festival


Thirty-two teams from around South Africa, Zimbabwe and Namibia competed in four days of fast-paced hockey.

  • Bloemhof High School
  • Brescia House School
  • C & N Sekondêre Meisieskool Oranje (OMS)
  • Clarendon High School for Girls
  • Collegiate Girls’ High School
  • Die Hoërskool Menlopark
  • Durban Girls' College
  • Eunice High School
  • Hoërskool DF Malan
  • Hoërskool Garsfontein
  • Hoërskool Waterkloof
  • Kingsmead College
  • Kingswood College
  • Our Lady of Fatima DCS
  • Paarl Gimnasium
  • Pearson High School
  • Penryn College
  • Peterhouse Girls
  • Pietermaritzburg Girls' High School
  • Pretoria High School for Girls
  • Roedean School (S.A.)
  • Somerset College
  • St Andrew's School for Girls
  • St Anne's Diocesan College
  • St John's DSG
  • St Mary's DSG, Pretoria
  • St Mary's DSG, Kloof
  • St Mary's School, Waverley 1st XI
  • St Mary's School, Waverley Festival XI
  • St Stithians Girls' College
  • The Wykeham Collegiate
  • Windhoek High School

The festival was hosted on various participating schools’ AstroTurfs, culminating with the final, held at St Mary’s, in the late afternoon of Sunday 9 April. Four days of brilliant hockey saw the final being played in front of an estimated crowd of over 2000 hockey supporters. These finals saw the 2014, 2015 and 2016 winners, C & N Sekondêre Meisieskool Oranje (OMS) take on St Anne's Diocesan College. The atmosphere was electric with girls from both teams rising to the challenge and playing some outstanding hockey. The final was a competitive affair, with OMS emerging as winners on the night, winning the this prestigious title for the fourth year in a row.